book food
Order fresh food in over
2000 trains
Cash On delivery
Cash on Delivery
fresh Food
Book Fresh Food 24X7!
Book online now!
Train Food Delivery Number 08800-31-31-31
(live operators 7:00am-10pm)

PNR Status


All about PNR on Indian Railways Unleashed

PNR means (Passenger Name Record) and most travelers on Indian Railways confuse the status of their PNR and often don't understand the status of their tickets. Making things simple, here's what you need to know before making a booking.

Check your PNR Status

You can check your PNR status by entering a 10 digit PNR number printed on the top left corner of your ticket in the box below:

PNR status explained

While travelling in Indian Railways, passengers can choose to make a booking up to 120 days ahead of the journey date, and on every ticket, there is a 10 digit PNR number issued that serves as a reference point for all future queries. Here's a quick take on the PNR status we see often.

  1. Confirmed Booking (CNF): If a ticket is booked and seats are allotted, it is known as confirmed booking. In such cases, the confirmed coach and berth number is mentioned on the ticket issued.
  2. Waiting list (WL): This simply means a berth has not been allotted to the passenger and ticket is in the waiting list. A passenger cannot board a ticket with a PNR having WL. The PNR status is shown in WL, and when seats are allotted due to cancellation, a confirmed berth number is offered on the same PNR. Once the maximum numbers of waiting list tickets are issued, no more booking is allowed and a message REGRET is displayed.
  3. GNWL: This is the general waiting list number of a PNR. The status may change as per changes in the cancellations.
  4. Reservation against cancellation (RAC): When a PNR status shows RAC, this refers to the case where a passenger doesn't have a reserved berth but can still board the train. He requires sharing the berth with someone, and in case, any berth is available on cancellation, he is offered the same on first priority basis. The berth number for RAC bookings is given as R## (ex: RS5, 25).
  5. CAN/MOD: This stands for a cancelled PNR number. This may also mean a modified ticket. A PNR is cancelled when the counter released ticket is cancelled over the counter or an e-ticket is cancelled via the IRCTC official portal.
  6. Tatkal (CK): When a ticket is issued with the Tatkal or CK PNR, it means the ticket has been booked under the tatkal quota, which can be a day prior to the travel date. If confirmed, a berth and coach number is given; else the ticket falls under tatkal waiting list with the symbol CKWL.
  7. Released: Such a status comes with a PNR when the ticket is not confirmed and an alternate option is offered to the passenger.

Information needed to generate PNR

Under the CRS (Computer Reservation System) of Indian railways, the following information is required for a booking.

  1. Name of passenger (s) for the ticket
  2. Details of travel agent/airline office. Every agent has an 8-digit IATA code.
  3. Details of journey
  4. Name of the person offering the travel information
  5. Itinerary details of one side or both.

How PNR is generated

A 10 digit PNR is generated for every ticket booked under Indian Railways through the Computer Reservation System. The passenger needs to feed the details of the itinerary and the Computer Reservation System will generate an alpha-numeric record locator, which serves as a reference and remains the same. The PNR status is not changed despite berth and coach changes.